Wikando GmbH

Moving mountains together

We are a passionate team of bright minds and have an incredible amount of fun constantly developing new ideas to help charities around the world collect and manage donations faster, easier and more digitally. We work very closely with our clients and are proud of their success stories. Our mission is to be a reliable partner and companion, providing advice and support on digitalisation through our expertise.

  • Sebastian Otminghaus Digital FundraisingSebastian Otminghaus Digital Fundraising
  • Wolfgang Neider Digital FundraisingWolfgang Neider Digital Fundraising
  • #We are
    WhatWeGive

  • Mirjam Maier Digital FundraisingMirjam Maier Digital Fundraising
  • “Be the change you want to see in the world.”
    Mahatma Gandhi

  • Rainer Wagner Digital FundraisingRainer Wagner Digital Fundraising
  • Markus Möller Digital FundraisingMarkus Möller Digital Fundraising
  • Peter Kral Digital FundraisingPeter Kral Digital Fundraising
  • Christian Stengel Digital FundraisingChristian Stengel Digital Fundraising
  • Mandy Fischer Digital FundraisingMandy Fischer Digital Fundraising
  • Olaf Wielk Digital FundraisingOlaf Wielk Digital Fundraising
  • Karin Sommer Digital FundraisingKarin Sommer Digital Fundraising
  • "It always seems impossible,
    until it's done. "
    Nelson Mandela

  • Micha Leykum Digital FundraisingMicha Leykum Digital Fundraising
  • Johanna Köver Digital FundraisingJohanna Köver Digital Fundraising
  • Philipp Reiber Digital FundraisingPhilipp Reiber Digital Fundraising
  • Laura Jentsch Digital FundraisingLaura Jentsch Digital Fundraising
  • Xenia Handel Digital FundraisingXenia Handel Digital Fundraising
  • "Believe you can
    and you are halfway there. "
    Theodore Roosevelt

Our vision

Wikando is the leading social tech company that supports organizations all over the world to maximize their social impact through digital measures.

Through state-of-the-art technologies, aid arrives quickly, safely and transparently where it is needed - whether for disaster events, social movements, to important projects - to address global challenges such as poverty, environmental issues, migration, human and animal rights.

Organisations can easily draw attention to themselves and their important issues, inspire supporters and advocates, and effectively implement their important projects to make our world a better place.

Our mission

Using the latest technologies, we develop digital solutions for organizations wanting to run modern digital fundraising campaigns.

We help nonprofits to collect donations online through various channels and to establish relationships with donors in a networked world.

With digitalisation come new challenges and with them fears and concerns. That is why we accompany non-profits in their transformation and make them technologically and culturally fit for the digital age. Through process automation and data-inspired decisions, we provide relief for the team so that the organisation can concentrate on the essentials:
fulfilling their mission.

"Even if we don't build a well ourselves, our work has a direct impact on the social impact of those who do. And thus on our own."

Peter Kral, CEO and founder of Wikando GmbH

Why we do what we do

Our philosophy

We want the world to become fairer, cleaner and more conscious.

On average, every person works 80,000 hours during their professional life. Our time is precious. That's why we don't want to lose any time and do our part with meaningful work in a fantastic team.

Der Weg, den wir dazu wählen, ist es, Non-Profit-Organisationen weltweit dabei zu helfen, auf ihre Themen aufmerksam zu machen, Unterstützende für sich zu finden und ihre gemeinnützigen Projekte zu realisieren.

We refer to ourselves as "Wikandos", digital pioneers for nonprofits who help others helping.

In a connected world there is extraordinary potential for nonprofits. That is why we develop digital solutions that are specially tailored to the requirements of nonprofit organizations. So nonprofits can communicate in a modern way and inspire new target groups for their mission.

We Wikandos are proud that nonprofits all around the world are using our solutions to do good. It enables us to have a social impact as well.

Photo by our team member Rainer Wagner

Once upon a time...

Our story

It all began in 2007. After their 6-month backpacking trip around the world, peppered with adventures and valuable insights into the work of nonprofit organizations in developing countries, Mirjam and Peter decided to found a social tech company to digitize the social world. The charity platform "Wikando - Experience Engagement", which was launched in 2008, connected nonprofits, companies and private individuals with one another so that volunteer positions, corporate volunteering positions, donations in kind and, of course, monetary donations can be easily arranged online. Rainer was involved in this development and was there almost from the start.

The platform was initially financed by companies that could professionally present their social commitment (CSR) via the platform. The number of profiles and registered aid organisations that showed themselves on wikando increased rapidly. However, with the financial crisis that started in 2009, companies had other challenges to face instead of showing their social engagement to the public. Therefore, the source of income that had been envisaged until then was no longer suitable at all.

Another door opened. Nonprofits were so convinced by the offer that requests came in to use the wikando platform functions for their own website. This happened during a time when other motivated founders in Germany had also implemented social ideas and created great offers. Through social camps and other think tanks, a creative and valuable exchange took place, which eventually led to a merger of wikando and helpedia. Helpedia, co-founded by Thomas at the time, was the first fundraising portal in Germany and also aimed to transform the non-profit sector into the online world.

The Wikando team, which had grown to include a variety of disciplines, had gained similar experience in the market and quickly agreed on its vision for the future: the goal was to focus exclusively on non-profits, to address their needs and, instead of a platform approach, to pursue a B2B fundraising technology service approach with a fair and sustainable business model. Thus, in July 2010, FundraisingBox was born, a holistic fundraising solution from fundraising to donation management for non-profit organisations that meet the demands of a connected world.

Different and, over time, growing needs of the nonprofits flowed into the permanent further development of Wikando. Needs also changed within the team: Family planning or the desire for a different choice of location were new, relevant topics that needed to be taken into account. As a result, the founders decided in 2012 to restructure Wikando and set it up completely remotely, i.e. as a distributed team. This was another cornerstone of our corporate philosophy - New Work - that was not only laid, but lived. The first three remote locations were Augsburg, Frankfurt and Berlin.

Since then, FundraisingBox has evolved considerably. The market has matured, digitalisation has increased, the remote team has grown and the constellation of the founding team, now management team, has changed. Wikando has become a company that no longer just offers software, but with sharp vision, irrepressible passion and a powerful team, provides a variety of solutions for the digital age for non-profits and also closely accompanies them in their challenges regarding digital transformation.

Online donation form from Fundraisingbox powered by Wikando GmbH

What is important to us

Our values

Although we are no longer a start-up on paper, we have fortunately been able to retain all the important advantages of a start-up thanks to our agile way of working, flexible workplaces, lean and dynamic structures and, above all, our pioneering spirit.

As a remote team in particular, we had to concentrate on our values ​​right from the start in order to find new Wikandos and to keep them enthusiastic about our work.

These points are important to us:

  • Pursue meaningful and sustainable work.
  • Be part of a cool and strong team.
  • Avoid overtime culture through smart prioritization.
  • Maintain a good balance between work and family.
  • Committing ourselves to challenging and varied tasks.
  • Work in a modern workplace with innovative software and hardware.
  • Experience constant appreciation for your own work.
  • Continue to try new things with curiosity and learn from mistakes.
  • Be able to question, change or reject the status quo.
  • To be transparent about how and where the company and team are developing.
  • Communicate openly and respectfully with each other.

Another thing that's great, of course:

  • Finally: no longer having to commute.
  • Start at 10 a.m., if we are late risers.
  • Being able to work from anywhere in the world.
  • And regularly seeing the team live on great team outings.

“I am proud to have founded a company in which the team stands together and everyone makes an active contribution."
What Wikando has achieved and will achieve is only possible thanks to the entire team. Thank you Wikandos!"

Mirjam Maier, CFO and founder of Wikando GmbH

Digital trailblazer for nonprofits

Would you also like to become a Wikando, share your talent with us, and pursue a meaningful purpose? Then apply now for one of our vacancies or to start up your own initiative. We can't wait to hear from you!

Bewirb' Dich jetzt!

You can find us here

A team of the world

We all work from home or on the go. Our company headquarters are in Augsburg, although our Wikandos have homes in Bavaria, Berlin, Hamburg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate and the city of eternal spring.

And from here we have already worked:
Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Indonesia, South Africa, USA, Colombia, Italy, Morocco, Spain, France, Malaysia, Netherlands, Austria, Philippines, Slovenia, from the train, from the car.

Online donation form from Fundraisingbox powered by Wikando GmbH

Why we LOVE OUR WORK

We help you...

...when collecting donations via digital channels. We offer you the best tools to ...

  • Keep up with the digitalization of society without being overwhelmed.
  • to develop new target groups.
  • to increase your donation volume and to counteract the demographic trend.
  • to concentrate more on your actual mission.
  • forge closer relationships with your supporters, for more loyal donors and more multipliers for your issue.
  • to become more efficient and effective by easing your workflow through automation.
  • to realize your projects, all of which serve a good cause.

So that together we can come closer to the vision of a better and fairer world.

Contact us!

Die Wikando GmbH

Gemeinsam was bewegen

Wir sind ein leidenschaftliches Team kluger Köpfe und haben unglaublich viel Spaß daran, ständig neue Ideen zu entwickeln, um Hilfsorganisationen weltweit dabei zu unterstützen, schneller, einfacher und digitaler Spenden zu sammeln und zu verwalten. Dabei arbeiten wir sehr eng mit unseren Kund*innen zusammen und sind stolz auf ihre Erfolgsgeschichten. Unser Anspruch ist es, ein*e verlässliche*r Partner*in und Wegbegleiter*in zu sein und durch unsere Expertise mit Rat und Tat bei der Digitalisierung zur Seite zu stehen.

  • Sebastian Otminghaus Digital FundraisingSebastian Otminghaus Digital Fundraising
  • Wolfgang Neider Digital FundraisingWolfgang Neider Digital Fundraising
  • #WirSind
    WasWirGeben

  • Mirjam Maier Digital FundraisingMirjam Maier Digital Fundraising
  • “Be the change you want to see in the world.”
    Mahatma Gandhi

  • Rainer Wagner Digital FundraisingRainer Wagner Digital Fundraising
  • Markus Möller Digital FundraisingMarkus Möller Digital Fundraising
  • Peter Kral Digital FundraisingPeter Kral Digital Fundraising
  • Christian Stengel Digital FundraisingChristian Stengel Digital Fundraising
  • Mandy Fischer Digital FundraisingMandy Fischer Digital Fundraising
  • Olaf Wielk Digital FundraisingOlaf Wielk Digital Fundraising
  • Karin Sommer Digital FundraisingKarin Sommer Digital Fundraising
  • "It always seems impossible,
    until it's done."
    Nelson Mandela

  • Micha Leykum Digital FundraisingMicha Leykum Digital Fundraising
  • Johanna Köver Digital FundraisingJohanna Köver Digital Fundraising
  • Philipp Reiber Digital FundraisingPhilipp Reiber Digital Fundraising
  • Laura Jentsch Digital FundraisingLaura Jentsch Digital Fundraising
  • Xenia Handel Digital FundraisingXenia Handel Digital Fundraising
  • "Believe you can
    and you are halfway there."
    Theodore Roosevelt

Unsere Vision

Wikando ist das führende Social-Tech-Unternehmen, das Organisationen weltweit unterstützt, durch digitale Maßnahmen ihren Social Impact zu maximieren.

Durch modernste Technologien kommt Hilfe schnell, sicher und transparent dort an, wo sie gebraucht wird - ob bei Katastrophenereignissen, sozialen Bewegungen, bis hin zu wichtigen Projekten - um globalen Herausforderungen wie Armut, Umweltfragen, Migration, Menschen- und Tierrechten zu begegnen.

Organisationen können dazu unkompliziert auf sich und ihre wichtigen Themen aufmerksam machen, Förderer*innen und Fürsprechende für sich begeistern, und effektiv ihre wichtigen Projekte umsetzen, um so unsere Welt besser zu machen.

Unsere Mission

Basierend auf den neuesten Technologien entwickeln wir digitale Lösungen für Organisationen, um modernes Digital Fundraising zu betreiben.

So helfen wir Non-Profits, über verschiedene Kanäle online Spenden zu sammeln und Beziehungen mit Spendenden in einer vernetzen Welt einzugehen.

Mit der Digitalisierung kommen neue Herausforderungen und damit Ängste und Sorgen. Deswegen begleiten wir Non-Profits in ihrer Transformation und machen sie technologisch und kulturell fit für das digitale Zeitalter. Durch Prozess-Automatisierung und dateninspirierte Entscheidungen sorgen wir für Entlastung im Team, damit die Organisation sich auf das Wesentliche konzentrieren kann:
die Erfüllung ihrer Mission.

"Auch wenn wir nicht selbst einen Brunnen bauen, haben wir mit unserer Arbeit direkten Einfluss auf den Social Impact derer, die es tun. Und damit auf unseren."

Peter Kral, CEO und Gründer der Wikando GmbH

Warum wir tun, was wir tun

Unsere Philosophie

Wir wünschen uns, dass die Welt gerechter, sauberer und bewusster wird.

Im Schnitt arbeitet jeder Mensch 80.000 Stunden während eines Berufslebens. Unsere Zeit ist kostbar. Deswegen möchten wir keine Zeit verlieren und mit sinnhafter Arbeit in einem fantastischen Team unseren Beitrag dazu leisten.

Der Weg, den wir dazu wählen, ist es, Non-Profit-Organisationen weltweit dabei zu helfen, auf ihre Themen aufmerksam zu machen, Unterstützende für sich zu finden und ihre gemeinnützigen Projekte zu realisieren.

Wir selbst bezeichnen uns als "Wikandos", als digitale Wegbereiter*innen für Non-Profits, die anderen helfen zu helfen.

In einer vernetzten Welt liegen außergewöhnliche Potentiale für Non-Profits. Deshalb entwickeln wir digitale Lösungen, die speziell auf die Anforderungen von gemeinnützigen Organisationen zugeschnitten sind. So können Non-Profits modern kommunizieren und neue Zielgruppen für ihre Mission begeistern.

Uns Wikandos erfüllt es mit Stolz, dass Non-Profits weltweit unsere Lösungen einsetzen, um Gutes in der Welt zu bewirken. So haben auch wir einen Social Impact.

Foto von unserem Teammitglied Rainer Wagner

Es war einmal...

Unsere Story

Alles begann 2007. Nach ihrer 6-monatigen Rucksackreise um die Welt, gespickt mit Abenteuern und wertvollen Einblicken in die Arbeit von gemeinnützigen Organisationen in Entwicklungsländern, beschlossen Mirjam und Peter ein Social-Tech-Unternehmen zu gründen, welches die soziale Welt digitalisieren sollte. Die Charity-Plattform "wikando - Erlebe Engagement", die 2008 an den Start ging, vernetzte Non-Profits, Unternehmen und Privatpersonen miteinander, so dass Ehrenamtsstellen, Corporate Volunteering Positionen, Sachspenden und natürlich auch Geldspenden ganz einfach online vermittelt werden können. An dieser Entwicklung beteiligt und fast von Beginn an dabei war auch Rainer.

Finanziert wurde die Plattform zunächst über Unternehmen, die ihr gesellschaftliches Engagement (CSR) über die Plattform professionell präsentieren konnten. Die Zahl der Profile und der angemeldeten Hilfsorganisationen, die sich auf wikando gezeigt haben, nahm schnell zu. Die Unternehmen jedoch hatten mit der Finanzkrise, die 2009 begann, andere Herausforderungen zu bewältigen, statt ihr gesellschaftliches Engagement der Öffentlichkeit zu zeigen. Daher war die bis dato angedachte Einnahmequelle überhaupt nicht mehr geeignet.

Eine andere Tür tat sich auf. Non-Profits waren vom Angebot derart überzeugt, dass Anfragen kamen, die wikando-Plattform-Funktionen für die eigene Webseite einzusetzen. Das geschah während einer Zeit, zu der in Deutschland auch andere motivierte Gründende soziale Ideen umgesetzt und tolle Angebote geschaffen hatten. Über Social-Camps und andere Think-Tanks gelang hierzu ein kreativer und wertvoller Austausch, der letztendlich so weit ging, dass es zu einem Zusammenschluss von wikando & helpedia kam. Helpedia, damals mitgegründet von Thomas, war das erste Spendenaktions-Portal in Deutschland und hatte ebenfalls den Anspruch die Non-Profit-Branche in die Online-Welt zu transformieren.

Das gewachsene Wikando-Team, das nun auch unterschiedliche Disziplinen vereinte, hatte bis dato ähnliche Erfahrungen im Markt gesammelt und war sich über seine Zukunftsvision schnell einig: Ziel war es, sich nun ausschließlich auf Non-Profits zu konzentrieren, sich deren Bedürfnisse anzunehmen und, statt eines Plattform-Ansatzes, einen B2B-Fundraising-Technologie-Dienstleistungsansatz mit einem fairen und nachhaltigen Geschäftsmodell zu fahren. So entstand im Juli 2010 die FundraisingBox, eine ganzheitliche Fundraising-Lösung vom Spendensammeln bis zum Spendenverwalten für gemeinnützige Organisationen, die den Ansprüchen einer vernetzten Welt gerecht werden.

Unterschiedliche und mit der Zeit auch wachsende Bedürfnisse der Non-Profits flossen in die permanente Weiterentwicklung von Wikando ein. Auch im Team veränderten sich die Bedürfnisse: Familienplanung oder der Wunsch nach einer anderen Standortwahl waren neue, relevante Themen, die berücksichtigt werden sollten. Daraufhin entschieden die Gründer*innen im Jahr 2012, Wikando neu zu strukturieren und sich komplett remote, also als verteiltes Team, aufzustellen. Damit war ein weiterer Grundstein unserer Unternehmensphilosophie - New Work - nicht nur gelegt, sondern gelebt. Die ersten drei Remote-Standorte waren Augsburg, Frankfurt und Berlin.

Seitdem hat sich die FundraisingBox stark weiterentwickelt. Der Markt ist gereift, die Digitalisierung hat zugenommen, das Remote-Team ist gewachsen und die Konstellation des Gründenden-Teams, heute Management-Team, hat sich verändert. Wikando ist ein Unternehmen geworden, das nicht mehr nur eine Software anbietet, sondern mit scharfem Weitblick, unbändiger Leidenschaft und einem schlagkräftigen Team eine Vielzahl an Lösungen für das digitale Zeitalter für Non-Profits bereitstellt und diese auch bei ihren Herausforderungen bezüglich der digitalen Transformation eng begleitet.

Online Spendenformular von Fundraisingbox powered by Wikando GmbH

Was uns wichtig ist

Unsere Werte

Mittlerweile sind wir zwar auf dem Papier kein Startup mehr, konnten uns aber durch unsere agile Arbeitsweise, flexible Arbeitsorte, schlanke und dynamische Strukturen und vor allem unseren Pioniergeist glücklicherweise alle wichtigen Vorteile eines Startup erhalten.

Gerade als Remote-Team mussten wir uns von Anfang an auf unsere Werte konzentrieren, um neue Wikandos zu finden und nachhaltig für uns zu begeistern.

Diese Punkte sind uns wichtig:

  • Einer sinnhaften und nachhaltigen Tätigkeit nachgehen.
  • Teil eines coolen und starken Teams sein.
  • Durch smarte Priorisierung keine Überstunden-Kultur haben.
  • Beruf und Familie gut in Einklang bringen.
  • Uns anspruchsvollen und abwechslungsreichen Aufgaben widmen.
  • An einem modernen Arbeitsplatz mit innovativer Software und Hardware arbeiten.
  • Regelmäßig Wertschätzung für die eigene Arbeit erfahren.
  • Weiter neugierig ausprobieren sowie aus Fehlern lernen dürfen.
  • Bestehendes in Frage stellen, ändern oder verwerfen können.
  • Transparenz zu haben, wie und wohin sich Unternehmen und Team entwickeln.
  • Offen und respektvoll miteinander kommunizieren.

Was natürlich auch prima ist:

  • Endlich nicht mehr pendeln müssen.
  • Um 10 Uhr ausgeschlafen starten, falls wir Spätaufsteher*innen sind.
  • Von überall auf der Welt arbeiten können.
  • Und das Team regelmäßig auf tollen Teamausflügen live sehen.

“Ich bin stolz, ein Unternehmen gegründet zu haben, in dem das Team zusammensteht und jeder seinen Beitrag aktiv leistet.
Das, was die Wikando erreicht hat und noch erreichen wird, ist der Verdienst des gesamten Teams. Danke Wikandos!”

Mirjam Maier, CFO und Gründerin der Wikando GmbH

Digitale*r Wegbereiter*in für Non-Profits

Möchtest Du auch ein Wikando werden, Dein Talent bei uns einbringen und einer sinnvollen Aufgabe nachgehen? Dann bewirb Dich jetzt, entweder auf unsere offenen Stellen oder initiativ. Wir freuen uns!

Bewirb' Dich jetzt!

Hier finden Sie uns

Ein Team von Welt

Wir arbeiten alle von zu Hause aus oder von unterwegs. In Augsburg ist unser Unternehmenssitz, wobei unsere Wikandos in Bayern, Berlin, Hamburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Rheinland-Pfalz und in der Stadt des ewigen Frühlings zu Hause sind.

Und von hier aus haben wir schon gearbeitet:
Costa Rica, Tschechien, Indonesien, Südafrika, USA, Kolumbien, Italien, Marokko, Spanien, Frankreich, Malaysia, Niederlande, Österreich, Philippinen, Slowenien, aus dem Zug, aus dem Auto

Online Spendenformular von Fundraisingbox powered by Wikando GmbH

Warum wir UNSERE ARBEIT LIEBEN

Wir helfen Ihnen...

...beim Spendensammeln über digitale Kanäle. Wir bieten Ihnen die besten Werkzeuge um...

  • mit der Digitalisierung der Gesellschaft Schritt zu halten, ohne überfordert zu sein.
  • neue Zielgruppen zu erschließen.
  • Ihr Spendenvolumen zu steigern und dem demographischen Trend entgegen zu wirken.
  • sich mehr auf Ihre eigentliche Mission konzentrieren zu können.
  • engere Beziehungen zu Ihren Unterstützenden zu knüpfen, für mehr treuere Spendende und mehr Multiplikator*innen für Ihr Thema.
  • effizienter und effektiver zu werden, indem wir Ihnen durch Automatisierung Arbeit abnehmen.
  • Ihre Projekte zu realisieren, die alle einem guten Zweck dienen.

Damit wir gemeinsam der Vision von einer besseren und gerechteren Welt näher kommen.

Melden Sie sich bei uns!